Indian Festivals

Significance of Nine days


1st - 3rd day of Navratri
A small bed of mud is prepared in the puja room and barley seeds are sown on it on the first day of Navratri. These initial days are dedicated to Maa Durga, the Goddess of power and energy.

4th - 6th day of Navratri
During these days, Maa Lakshmi, the Goddess of peace and prosperity is worshipped.

7th day of Navratri
Final three days of the festival belong to Maa Saraswati who is worshipped to acquire the spiritual knowledge.

8th day of Navratri or Mahaashtami
The day begins with a recital of Sanskrit hymns by the devotees; they offer prayer to the goddess. Kumari Puja or the worship of little girls as the mother goddess is a special part of the rituals observed in a number of traditional and household pujas.

9th day of Navratri or Mahanavami
The festival of Navratri culminates in Mahanavami. On this day Kanya Puja is performed. Nine young girls representing the nine forms of Goddess Durga are worshiped. Their feet are washed as a mark of respect for the Goddess and then they are offered food mainly consisting of kala chana, halwa and poori along with coconut pieces and dakshina (money) and Red chunri is offered to the kanjaks.